Welcome to FPA of the National Capital Area!
Please scroll down to learn more about our National Capital Chapter Events, Partners and Board of Directors.

The Financial Planning Association National Capital Area chapter is the preeminent organization for financial planning professionals in the Washington DC region. Our members serve thousands of people in the District of Columbia, suburban Maryland, and northern Virginia. FPA’s nationwide network of nearly 100 chapters encourages professional development and networking on a local level. We also connect members in 49 countries around the world.

Chapter News: New President's Message

Dear FPA NCA Members,

Greetings from the Mile High City! Your FPA Board is concluding a productive January and keeping our momentum going in February at the FPA Chapter Leadership Conference (CLC). Each year, members of the Executive Committee collaborate with our colleagues from across the country to identify best practices and new ideas that we can leverage locally to deliver more value for our members. Thank you to Board Members Catherine Mulcahy and Aaron Clarke for joining me at Alliance Forum and CLC, respectively.

Click Here for the full message.

2024 Annual Awards Nomination is Open

This is your chance to recognize outstanding individuals in our community who have made significant contributions to the field of financial planning. If you know someone deserving of recognition, or if you believe your own work is worthy of an award, we encourage you to submit a nomination.

To learn more about the award categories, criteria, and the nomination process, please click HERE

2024 Events

National Margarita Day & CFP Ethics with Rita Cheng

February 22, 2024 @ Kalypsos in Reston VA
Register Here

Half Day Program

Thursday, March 7, 2024 @ The Archer Hotel, Tysons
Register Here

Annual Charity Golf Tournament

May 13, 2024 at the 1757 Club

Half Day Program

Wednesday, June 26, 2024 location tbd

July is Shark Tank Technology Month

Stay tuned for webinars every Wednesday in July

August Ask a Financial Planner Day in Silver Springs MD

Stay tuned for details on how to volunteer

Thursday, September 12, 2024 Practice Management Session

Location tbd

Friday, September 27, 2024 Nats Game

Powered by Schwab

2024 Sponsors

Alan Mijes| alan.mijes@allianzlife.com
Gary Altman | 301- 468-3220 | gary@altmanassociates.net
Shane Chareonchumb| Shane.Chareonchump@assetmark.com
Courtney Janssen | Courtney.Janssen@Blackstone.com 
Chris Yost | 404-308-3300 | Christopher.Yost@Cantor.com
Antonio Bass | antonio.bass@capgroup.com
Craig Arsenault | carsenault@cliffwater.com
Marie McClughen |mmcclughen@ftadvisors.com
Mike Kondras | 609-221-8735 | mike.kondras@hines.com
Colton Fergus | cfergus@golubcapital.com
Paul Hallisey, CIMA® | paul.hallisey@janushenderson.com
Cole Ebel | cebel@jenseninvestment.com
Saxon Justice | sjustice@proshares.com
Keith McFadyen | krm@sitinvest.com
Chris Parks | cparks@transamerica.com
Thomas E. Galgano, Jr., CFA, CAIA | 516.509.5572 |Tom_Galgano_jr@vanguard.com
Virginia 529 | Rebecca Lyons | (804) 310-0961 | rlyons@virginia529.com

The Smarter Planner Podcast

What Planners should know, but they don't
Click here to become a smarter planner

Partnerships

Learn about the ways you can support our National Capital Area Chapter.
CLICK HERE to Learn More About Our Partnership Program

Career Center

Post job openings and find potential candidates.
CLICK HERE to Learn More About our Career Center