The P. Kemp Fain, Jr., Award is the pinnacle of recognition in the financial planning profession, honoring one exceptional individual who has made outstanding contributions to the financial planning profession. Fain was a pioneer in the financial planning pro​fession, blazing trails in professional associations, the CFP ® certification, and the profession at large.

Nominees for the award are individuals who have made significant contributions to the financial planning profession in the areas of service to society, academia, government and professional activities.  The recipient is recognized at FPA's Annual Conference.

FPA national staff or national board members who hav​e served in the past 5 years are not eligible for nomination. Individuals or firms acting on their behalf (Ex: Public Relations/Marketing firms who have the individual as a client) may not self-nominate.​

Previous Awardees:
  • 2022: Scott Kahan, CFP®
  • 2021: Tom Warschauer, Ph.D., CFP®
  • 2020: N/A due to cancellation of in-person annual conference related to Covid-19
  • 2019: Tom Potts, Ph.D., CFP®
  • 2018: Harold Evensky, CFP®
  • 2017: Dave  Yeske, CFP®
  • 2016: Ray Ferrara, CFP®
  • 2015: Roy Diliberto, CFP®
  • 2014: Lynn Hopewell, CFP® (posthumous award)
  • 2013 : Elissa Buie , CFP®
  • 2012 : David King, CFP® (posthumous award)
  • 2011: Lewis J. Walker, CFP®
  • 2010: S. Timothy Kochis, CFP®
  • 2009: Eileen Sharkey, CFP®
  • 2008: Don Pitti (posthumous award)
  • 2007: E. Denby Brandon, Jr., CFP®, CLU, ChFC
  • 2006: Bill E. Carter, CFP®, CLU, ChFC
  • 2005: Colin B. Coombs, CFP®, CLU
  • 2004: Alexandra Armstrong, CFP®
  • 2003: Richard B. Wagner, JD, CFP®
  • 2002: William L. Anthes, Ph.D.
  • 2000 & 2001: No award given
  • 1999: Charles G. Hughes, Jr., CFP®
  • 1998: Henry I. Montgomery, CFP®
  • 1997: Loren E. Dunton (posthumous award)
  • 1996: John T. Blankinship, Jr., CFP®
  • 1994 & 1995: No award given
  • 1993: P. Kemp Fain, Jr., CFP®

P. Kemp Fain, Jr Award Nomination Form

2023 nominations are due April 21
Access Online Nomination Form

Utilize PDF version of Nomination Form

2023 nominations are due April 21
2023 P. Kemp Fain, Jr., Award Nomination Form